View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:35 pm

Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
one piece headwrap guide 

Unread post one piece headwrap guide
I already typed this up once and lost it...so I apologize if this version is a little lacking, Ill try to be patient enough for the redo

After looking through hella pictures of Oola/Gella sisters style headbands I decided to make my own. I didnt want to practice and waste money using leather so I went to the red tag section of Joanns and brought home various 1/3 yard cuts of vinyl.

Before i started this project I didnt realize just how many types of vinyl there are. I got samples of every kind I could find and have made a head wrap out of each one. Aside from my sewing machine not loving the "stickier" versions each headwrap turned out fine.

This is my first attempt at any sort of tutorial so please be kind :)

1. First things first is cutting out the pieces! I have a tissue pattern that I drew to trace onto the vinyl to cut out my shapes. Keep in mind that pinning anything to the vinyl will leave a permanent hole. I basically set the tissue on the vinyl and put 2 or 3 pins in around the very edges (they will get trimmed off later so holes dont matter) and drew around it with a sharpie. Remove the tissue and cut. You need sharp scissors for this dull scissors will just twist the fabric and mar the vinyl. Cut 2 of the pattern and then lay the pattern over the top of the piece that will be the front and trace the 2 ear but openings. Cut out those 2 circles and you will have this.